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301
Coverage Eligibility

For group health insurance purposes (per Wis. Stats. § 40.02 (25)(b)), eligible employes include:  

 1.
Any State employe who is covered under the Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS).

 2.
Any teacher who is employed by the University for an expected duration of not less than six months on at least one-third full-time employment.

 3.
Any person employed as a graduate assistant and other employes-in-training designated by the Board of Regents of the University System, who are employed on at least one-third full-time basis.

4.
Any crew leader employed by the Wisconsin Conservation Corps Board authorized under Wis. Stats. § 16.20 (10)(fm).

 5.
The surviving spouse of an active or retired State employe, who was a participant in the Group Health Insurance Program at the time of his or her death.

 6.
Any insured employe who is retired on an immediate or disability annuity, or who receives a lump sum payment under WRS which would have been an immediate annuity if paid as an annuity.

 7.
Any participating State employe who terminates after attaining 20 years of creditable service and remains a participant in WRS, that is, does not take a separation benefit, or who is eligible for an immediate annuity but defers application.  

 8.
Any employe on layoff whose health insurance premiums are being paid from accumulated unused sick leave (Wis. Stats. § 40.05 (4)(bm)).

 9.
Any other employe of the State for whom coverage is authorized under a collective bargaining agreement.  

10.
Any blind employe of WISCRAFT authorized under Wis. Stats. § 47.03 (1)(b) or § 47.03 (1m), who has completed 1,000 hours of service.  
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State Share Eligibility and Effective Dates
A.
Determining Who is Eligible for State Share

To be eligible to receive the State contribution toward the premium payment (the State share), the employe must meet one of the following requirements:  

1.
Be a covered employe under the WRS, having been employed by the State of Wisconsin (local government service does not apply) for a minimum of six months.  It is imperative that employers contact the Division of Employer Services to determine prior service of any new employe.  Note that a leave of absence may extend the effective date of the State share payment.  

2.
Be a new employe who has at least six months prior service as a State or University employe, 

a.
The new employe must submit an application for health coverage within 30 calendar days of the first day of employment.  

b.
If an application is submitted beyond the 30-day period, the new employe is restricted to the Standard Plan with a waiting period for pre-existing conditions.  

3.
Be a graduate assistant or employe-in-training at the University of Wisconsin;

4.
Be a member of the Legislature or elected State official; or

5.
Be a blind employe of WISCRAFT with at least 1,000 hours of service.  

B.
Calculating the Proportion of State Share

The proportion of the State share contribution towards the monthly health insurance premium is based upon the type and anticipated duration of employment.  

1.
Employer contribution for full-time employes - 1,044 work hours.  

a.
If an employe is appointed to a position or multiple positions that require(s) at least 1,044 work hours per year, the employer contribution will be the lesser of 90% of the Standard premium or 105% of the lowest qualified alternate plan in each county.  

b.
The amount of state contribution toward premium for alternate plans is determined by the county in which the subscriber receives primary medical care.  However, if the employe selects the Standard Plan, Standard Plan II or a Preferred Provider Plan, then the subscriber's county of residence determines the amount of State contribution.  

c.
Whether the employe actually works the minimum is immaterial; as long as the appointment specifies a minimum of 1,044 work hours, the amount of employer contribution remains the same.  

2.
Employer contribution for less than half-time employes - less than 1,044 work hours.  

If an employe is appointed to a position that requires less than 1,044 work hours, the employer contribution shall be equal to 50% of the employer contribution for full-time employes.  

3.
Limited Term Employes (LTEs)

a.
Once LTEs begin participation under the WRS, they are eligible immediately to enroll in the health insurance program by paying the entire premium, or they may defer enrollment until the state contributes toward premium on the first day of the seventh month after WRS participation begins.  

b.
LTEs are eligible only for 50% of the contribution made by the state for full-time employes, if they are appointed to work less than 1,044 hours per year.  Employes hired to work concurrent WRS eligible LTE appointments, either with the same state agency or different state agency, are treated as full-time employes for the determination of the employer share.

NOTE:
LTEs who decline to enroll in health insurance when they first begin participation in WRS, will not receive a second opportunity to enroll in health insurance without restrictions when appointed to a permanent position, unless there has been a 30-day employment break between the LTE and permanent position.  Employes without the 30-day employment break, will only be eligible to enroll in the Standard Plan (not Standard II) with a 180-day waiting period for pre-existing medical conditions.  

4.
Graduate Assistants

a.
Under Wis. Stats. § 40.52 (3), separate health insurance coverage is made available to University of Wisconsin Graduate Assistants, employes in training, short term academic staff, fellows and scholars.  Refer to the "It's Your Choice" booklet (ET-2127) for eligibility and enrollment requirements.  

b.
The University contribution will be the lesser of 80% of the Standard premium or 100% of the lowest priced qualified alternate plan in each county.  

c.
The amount of state contribution toward premium for alternate plans is determined by the county in which the subscriber receives primary medical care.  However, if the employe selects the Standard Plan, Standard Plan II or a Preferred Provider Plan, then the subscriber's county of residence determines the amount of State contribution.  

5.
Represented Employes

Some represented employes may have different State share contributions.  Consult the applicable collective bargaining contracts.  

C.
Determining Effective Dates of State Share Contribution

1.
Employes without a break in service during the first six months of employment and no previous WRS service as a State or University employe.  

a.
When an employe begins employment on the first of a month, add six months to determine the month in which the employe is eligible to receive the State share contribution.  

b.
For an employe who begins work on the 2nd through the 31st of a month, add seven months.  

EXAMPLE:
Hire date of March 2; health insurance application received September 30.  

Solution:  The employe would be eligible for participation in the health insurance program with State share effective October 1.  The health insurance application must be received on or before October 1.  

This was determined by adding seven to the hire date as the employe was hired between the second and thirty-first of the month without a break in service and no previous WRS service.  

2.
Employes with a break in service.  Whenever there is a break in service, any period worked in a month is counted as a month towards WRS service.  

EXAMPLE:
Hire date of August 26; employe terminates or goes on a LOA beginning on December 5; employe returns to work  on January 15; no prior service before August 26.  

Solution:  Because there was a break in service, any period worked in a month would be counted as a full month towards WRS service.  So, the months of August, September, October, November, December and January would be counted as there were hours worked in each, totaling the needed six months.  The employe would be eligible for State share February 1 if a health insurance application was received on or before that date.  

NOTE:
In this instance, the employe has until February 14 to submit a completed health insurance application (30 days from the date of return to work) for a Plan of their choice without a waiting period for pre-existing conditions.  If the application is received on or before February 1, coverage is effective February 1.  If the application is received between February 2 and February 14, the effective date of coverage is March 1.  

3.
Employes with prior WRS service.  Employes with six months WRS prior service as a State or University employe are eligible to apply within 30 calendar days of hire with coverage effective the first of the month following the employer's receipt of the application.  
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Coverage During Leave of Absence.
An insured employe who is on a leave of absence (LOA) may choose whether to continue health insurance coverage during the leave.  A LOA is any period in which an employe is not working for or receiving earnings from a participating employer, and has not terminated the employer-employe relationship.  An insured employe on LOA is subject to the same eligibility and enrollment provisions as an active employe.  A LOA is considered terminated when an employe has returned to work for 30 consecutive days for at least 50% of their normal work time.  

A.
For an employe on an approved LOA who elects to continue health insurance coverage:  

1.
The State share contribution toward premium payment continues for the first three months of the LOA for which premiums have not already been deducted as of the date the LOA begins.  In other words, this will result in a total of five months of employer-shared premium.  For the remaining months of the LOA, the employe must pay the entire premium; there is no State contribution after the first three months.  

2.
Premiums must be paid in advance, either by deduction from the last payroll check or by direct payment to the employer.  Payments must be received by the employer prior to the period of coverage.  

3.
Report the employe along with your active employes.  Any payments received from the employe while on LOA should be made payable to the employer and included in your monthly remittance to ETF.  

4.
The maximum length of time coverage can be continued while on LOA is 36 months.  Refer to Chapter 8 on Continuation-Conversion for applicable procedures.  

NOTE:
Coverage during military, union-service leave or layoff and when sick leave is used to pay premium may extend beyond 36 months.  An employe on a union-service leave may continue coverage until termination of the LOA, or the date that service with that labor organization ceases, whichever occurs first.  

5.
Send Dual-Choice information to those insured employes who are on LOA prior to the beginning of the designated Dual-Choice Enrollment period.  

6.
The insured employe will not be required to complete a health insurance application upon return to work.  

B.
For an employe on LOA who allows health insurance coverage to lapse and returns to work:  

1.
The employe must submit a health insurance application electing the same plan and level of coverage as before the LOA.  The employe may change the coverage type only if there has been a change of status which constitutes an enrollment opportunity. 

2.
The employe should be given a Dual-Choice opportunity upon return to work if the employe was off payroll during the entire Dual-Choice Enrollment period.  

3.
Coverage will be effective the first of the month following the employer's receipt of the completed health insurance application.  This application must be received within 30 days of the employe's return to work.  If not received timely, the employe and the indicated dependents will only be eligible for the Standard Plan with a 180-day waiting period for pre-existing conditions.  

4.
Return from military or Family Medical Leave of Absence (FMLA):  The coverage effective date for employes who discontinue coverage during a military LOA or an FMLA, will be the exact date the employe returns to work.  Coverage is effective upon return to work.  A full month's premium is due for that month if coverage is effective before the 16th of that month.  Otherwise, the entire premium for that month is waived.

The following are examples of situations of FMLA which may be encountered:  

a.
If FMLA spans the end of one calendar year and continues into the next year (twelve weeks of one year ending December 31st and twelve weeks beginning January 1st of the next year), the effective date will be the date the employe returns to work, as long as it is not beyond the allowable twelve weeks for the current calendar year.  

NOTE:
FMLA is based on a calendar year and cannot exceed a twelve-week period in any given calendar year.  

b.
If an employe on FMLA exceeds the twelve-week calendar year limit and elects to continue the leave using leave without pay, the effective date of the employe's reinstatement in the Health Insurance Program will be the first of the month following the employer's receipt of the employe's health insurance application after completing 30 days of at least 50% of their full-time rate of employment.  
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Coverage During Layoff
A.
Coverage may be continued during layoff.  

1.
The State contribution is available for the first three months of layoff for which premiums have not already been deducted.  After that the employe is responsible for the entire premium.  

2.
Premiums must be paid in advance, either by deduction from the last paycheck or by direct payment to the employer.  Payments must be received by the employer prior to the period of coverage.  

3.
Employes on layoff are reported along with your active employes and employes on LOA.  Any payments received from employes on layoff should be made payable to the employer and included in your monthly remittance to ETF.  

4.
If an employe is on layoff during an entire Dual-Choice Enrollment period, the employe must be given a Dual-Choice opportunity upon return to work.  Dual-Choice information should be sent to those employes who are on layoff prior to the beginning of the designated Dual-Choice Enrollment period.  

5.
Coverage may be continued for up to three years (five years if an employe elects to use sick leave and has a sufficient balance) while an employe is on layoff status.  

B.
Sick leave may be converted to pay premiums during layoff.  

1.
Accumulated unused sick leave of any insured employe can, upon request of the employe at the time the employe is subject to layoff, be converted at the employe's current base pay rate to credits for payment of health insurance premiums.  Sick leave may be used to fund the employe contribution effective the first of the month following the date the layoff begins.

2.
The full amount of the required employe premiums shall be deducted from the credits until one of the following situations has occurred:  

a.
The credits are exhausted.  

b.
The employe is reemployed.  

c.
Five years have elapsed from the date of layoff.  

3.
The use of sick leave during layoff is the record-keeping responsibility of the employer.  The employe is reported to ETF the same as any other employe on layoff who is continuing their coverage.  For more information on sick leave, see Chapter 9 - Accumulated Sick Leave Conversion Credits.  

4.
The maximum length of time coverage can be continued during layoff while using sick leave credits is five years.  

C.
Coverage may be discontinued during layoff.  An employe whose coverage lapses while on layoff is restricted to:

1.
The same coverage type upon return from layoff unless a qualifying event has taken place.

2.
The same plan upon return from layoff unless the employe moved during that period or unless a Dual-Choice Enrollment period occurred during the time the employe was laid off.
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Coverage During Appeal of Discharge
A.
Coverage may be continued by an employe who has been discharged from employment and is appealing the discharge.  

1.
The first premium payment and the appeal must both be filed within 30 days of discharge.  

2.
Future premium payments must be made through the employing agency and must be received prior to the first of the month to be covered.  

3.
The employe must pay both the employe and state share of premium due each month until the appeal is resolved.  

B.
When a decision has been issued on the appeal.  

1.
If the appeal is resolved in favor of the employe and the employe is made whole (as if the discharge did not occur), the employer must refund the State share contribution to the employe.  

2.
If the appeal is resolved in favor of the employe but the employe is not made whole, the employe will return to work from this time forward, the employer share is not returned to the employe.

3.
If the discharge is upheld, the employe is eligible to continue health insurance for the balance of the 36 months from the original termination date.  A Continuation-Conversion Notice (ET-2311) must be provided to the employe using the original termination date and the current date through which health insurance premiums have been paid.  
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